New to Pokemon Mini

The main forum, all general PM related threads go in here.
VirtualChris

New to Pokemon Mini

Post by VirtualChris »

Hi all. I am very new to the Pokemon Mini. How new? I had to google what the 151st Pokemon was as required by the activation question! Anyway, I just overpaid for a used Pokemon Mini on eBay. Straight from Japan. I am supposed to get it in about 2 weeks. I just thought it was so cool looking so I just had to get it. I have a few questions.
#1 - What type of battery do I need? Just a common round one for most electronic stuff?
#2 - Is there some sort of flashcart so I can play homebrew games on my Pokemon Mini?
#3 - How hard is it to program homebrew games for it? (If you recognize my username, I am working on a Virtual Boy game over on PVB.)
Anyway, I hope to release a homebrew game for this and I am super excited about getting my hands on one, even though I overpaid for it and have to wait a few weeks to get it from Japan.
RayXambeR

Re: New to Pokemon Mini

Post by RayXambeR »

Welcome Chris! Happy to see you involved in Pokemon mini development! Some of your "little" Videopac games could be great on this small system!

1- only one AAA 1,5 V battery
2- yes, you have to see the flash cart from Lupin. It works well!
3- I cannot answer because I am not a programer...
YasaSheep

Post by YasaSheep »

Programming isn't so bad but the C stuff isn't very complete, so you mostly have to do everything in asm. If you're used to that you'll be ok.
KR155E
Admin

Post by KR155E »

Welcome, Chris! Have a look at this thread for a complete C development environment.
VirtualChris

Post by VirtualChris »

I downloaded all that stuff and made a "hello world" type program, but I have no idea how to compile it.
I'm using Windows 7 if that helps.
zoranc

Post by zoranc »

What you were able to achieve and what you failed?